Economic Coordination Groups (1 of 2)

The following five economic policy coordinating bodies review policy options and develop recommendations for Presidential decision. With the exception of the National Economic Council, these coordinating bodies are not standing organizations with permanent staff, but they do meet frequently and therefore allow members to build lasting relationships.

The National Economic Council (NEC) was established by Executive Order 12835 and is the most senior interagency forum for economic and trade policy coordination. The NEC advises the President on matters related to U.S. and global economic policy, coordinates policy-making for domestic and international economic issues, ensures that policy decisions and programs are consistent with the President's economic goals, and monitors implementation of the President's economic policy agenda. The purview of the NEC extends to policy matters affecting the various sectors of the nation's economy as well as the overall strength of the U.S. and global macro-economies. Therefore, the membership of the NEC comprises numerous department and agency heads, whose policy jurisdictions impact the nation's economy. The NEC is chaired by the President. The Assistant to the President for Economic Policy is also the Director of the NEC and oversees a staff of policy specialists who support the council's decision-making.

The NEC Deputies’ committee serves as the senior sub-Cabinet interagency body for coordinating economic policy issues. The DC reviews memoranda from subordinate groups before NEC consideration and discusses controversial trade-related issues.

The Trade Policy Review Group (TPRG) develops and coordinates U.S. government positions on international trade and trade-related investment issues. The TPRG is administered and chaired by a Deputy USTR and is composed of 19 Federal agencies and offices with membership at the Under Secretary level.

The Trade Policy Staff Committee (TPSC) is the primary operating group that coordinates on trade issues, with representation at the senior civil service level. Supporting the TPSC are more than 90 subcommittees responsible for specialized areas and several task forces that work on particular issues.

Listing of executive branch agencies on the TPRG and TPSC